Staff and Board

The Drug Policy Alliance is led by founder and executive director Ethan Nadelmann, JD, PhD.

The organization is governed by a board of directors who bring a wealth of public health, science, civil liberties, social justice and criminal justice experience to the drug policy reform movement. The president of the board is Ira Glasser, former executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union.

The DPA honorary board includes prominent figures from both the left and the right who are renowned for their leadership in the fields of business, law, medicine, media and politics– from Sting, Russell Simmons and Arianna Huffington to the former U.S. secretary of state, secretary of defense, surgeon general, attorney general, and chairman of the Federal Reserve.